At the Edge of the Woods

img_2528At the Edge of the Woods

I wish I had answers but I only have stories.

An old recliner, I sit at the edge of the woods.

I was once comfortable.

Lest you forget.

A man died in my comfort.
Smiling that day.
Proud of his gay son.

Shall we sit a spell and reflect,
Together.

He liked to golf and save old things, polishing his shoes with a careless whistle, sipping tea.

Lest we forget.

I heard a nurse say,
“He was so happy you found love!”
Tears ran down the son’s face, and he replied,
“I was always afraid to ask…”

You have curled up to sleep in me,
And the cat, purring on your lap
Remembers.

A gift from a son,
I sit in silent snow talking.

Someone said I have no value.
Snowbirds beneath my skirt, a secret feast on cookie crumbs and a story.

Lest we forget,
How to stay warm in winter.
I wish I had answers but I only have stories.
Things you never heard me say.

– Tanya

Leave a Reply

